Next Year Two Pails of Brandy Slush!

brandyslush1.gif It seems that the humble brandy slush has once again been a hit at the second annual Tritz Christmas party open house. Thank you to all of our wonderful friends who graced Joe and I and our home with their presence! I believe a relaxing and enjoyable evening was had by all. The Klemans felt the pressure (after my comments in the invitation about them) to close the party, but alas, they (or at least Tricia) collapased under the pressure and couldn’t claim the title away from the Nordbergs. Per a special request, the title of “First to Arrive” goes to the Burches. Once again, the Rosses claim the latest guests to arrive award – although I contemplated not bestowing this honor upon them since Gary sent his oldest son to stand in for him because he needed his beauty rest. I apologize for Joe’s hiding of the pictionary game, as I was all for playing a round – even if it was just Jeff (K.) and I! Next year, next year….. which brings me to the closing announcement that, since Joe and I have already decided that this is too good of a time in this merry season to miss, you all can pencil it in your calendars for same time next year.

In all seriousness, I personally want to say that I love all of you and are so thankful to have the friends that I do. I probably don’t express my appreciation of or my gratitude for all of you outwardly as well as I could, but hopefully this little note will make a little more known the special place you all hold in my heart. May God bless each of you in a special way this Christmas season and beyond!

P.S. Here’s the recipe for the brandy slush some of you requested!

(taken from Springbrook Homemakers Club Cookbook – 25th Anniversary edition)

Brandy Slush

Mary Rine & Collette Rocke

7 c. water
2 c. sugar
2 c. boiling water
3 green tea bags (or flavor of your choice)
1 12 oz. frozen orange juice
1 12 oz. frozen lemonage juice
2 c. apricot brandy

Boil 7 cups water and sugar, cool. Combine boiling water and tea bags and let seep until cool. Mix together water/sugar mixture, tea and all remaining ingredients. Freeze, stirring occasionally. To serve, fill glass half full of slush and fill to top with 50/50 or 7Up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christmas

Leave a Reply

