Housekeeping Meme

Saw this housekeeping meme at KC’s blog, and since I read it, I was tagged! How about you?

Aprons – Y/N?
Not usually, but I do like one when I do wear it. My grandma always wears one. Hers are usually pretty and flowery. Mine is a denim Pampered Chef apron. My girls have matching kids aprons.

Baking – Favorite thing to bake:
Pretty much anything, but I especially like baking things from scratch that these days others may think only comes out of a box! I also like baking my grandmas’ and other favorite family recipes.

Clothesline – Y/N?
Yes, and much to my husband’s chagrin, I don’t use it nearly enough. I do love the smell of clothes that have dried in the sun vs. the dryer!

Donuts – Have you ever made them?
No, but my great grandma was supposedly famous for her donuts – I’d love to try them, and I’m sure my family wouldn’t mind either!

Every day – One homemaking thing you do every day:
Dishes (dishwasher and by hand) and laundry. My girls take out the garbage and clean the bathroom sinks everyday.

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
I have an extra upright freezer in the basement and a chest freezer in the garage along with a freezer, that doesn’t really work well, as part of a side-by-side in the garage.

Garbage Disposal – Y/N?
No, and I never want one.

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
I have Home Comforts by Mendelson, which I don’t use much, but I like the book! FlyLady has probably had the most influence on my planning for housekeeping.

Ironing – Love it or hate it?
I like it, but with so much else to do, it usually lies around until dear husband decides he’s just going to do it. Luckily, we don’t have too much we need to iron!

Junk drawer – Y/N? Where is it?
Yes – two in the kitchen, one in the laundry room, but really, it’s not junk – it’s really useful!

Kitchen: Design & Decorating?
LOVE it – have no time or money for it! It was my second college degree (Interior Architecture). I would love to start from scratch and design our own home someday. The older I get, the further from reality that dream seems J. I do like “decorate with what you have” types of philosophies and try to make my home look nice – even if I am the only one who cares or notices!

Love: What is your favorite part of homemaking?
Making meals for my family, keeping our home relatively clean and not too cluttered, and making it seem warm and cozy so we enjoy spending time here.

Mop – Y/N?
Usually I mop, but when a deep clean is called for – it’s down on the hands and knees. Nothing beats it!

Nylons – Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
I know it should be by hand, but I have neither time nor space for such a thing – in the washing machine they go!

Oven – Do you use the window, or open the door to check?
Now I turn on the light and look through the window, but with our old stove I opened the door since the light was broken.

Pizza – What do you put on yours?
My hubby and kids are sooo traditional – pepperoni and cheese respectively. Me, I’d opt for sausage, mushroom, onion and tomatoes OR Canadian bacon, pineapple, onions and tomatoes OR best of all, hamburger and sauerkraut!

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?Pray. Nap. Read – a book, a magazine. Occassionally, I spend time checking my favorite internet sites. If I’m pressed for time, my “quiet moment” is used to get my weightlifting in.

Recipe card box – Y/N?
Yes! Unfortunately, it’s not nearly big enough to hold all the recipes I like. So there are scraps of paper with recipes on, manila folders with recipes in, a big bowl on the counter with recipes in, ….

Style of house –
Full basement story-and-a-half with attached garage. Style would be considered rather traditional with front porch and dormers.

Tablecloths and napkins – Y/N?
Tablecloths occasionally, but I’ve never owned napkins. I love Bounty toweling! Now that I have a new large kitchen table, I’m going to need some new tablecloths. Who knows, maybe I’ll buy some napkins too?!

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
Organized, but not always perfectly clean. The kids aren’t the neatest when it comes to getting garbage in the garbage can.

Vacuum – How many times per week?
Once a week – spot vacuuming in between when needed on the carpets. Vinyl floors a couple times per week, with the kitchen getting it everyday! (Since we’ve lost our dog, we’ve had to vacuum the kitchen everyday – haha)

Wash – How many loads of laundry do you do a week?
TOO MANY! I hate laundry.

X’s – Do you keep a daily list of things to do and cross them off?
Yes, I do, and my husband always laughs at me for it. Yet, who does he come to when he needs information about our schedule???

Yard – Who does what?
DH does the lawn mowing and trim, pruning of the trees and really, most any yard work we do do, which isn’t that much unfortunately. I take care of any plants, flowers, our raised garden beds and keeping the yard toys in check!

Zzz’s – What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
It varies, but it is usually one of the following: dishes, something with schoolwork, laundry, or misc. tidying up.

This was fun! If you would like to participate, please consider yourself tagged!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, food, Homemaking

Leave a Reply

