TGIF?

Yes, it’s Friday – am I thankful? Well…I am thankful that it means my husband will be home for the weekend. It will be nice to have him around, and I don’t just mean for help with the housework and sick people (including me). I’m not sure he’s excited about being around all of us coughing and sniffling, but we sure appreciate his presence πŸ™‚ . It’s been a long week, and I didn’t get around to posting all the reflections from the daily gospels like I had hoped. I apologize to my few readers! I sure do hope that by Monday we are back on our feet – I’ve got too much to do to be sick for so long πŸ˜‰

I will take just the quick moment I have (before I get to catch a catnap?) to post on the gospel of Jn 21:1-14 for today. This is taken from the The Little White Book, which I linked to a few days ago.

The two details to notice in today’s gospel are: 1) location – it takes place on the north shore of the Sea of Galilee, the same area where Jesus had miraculously fed the crowd with the loaves and fishes, and 2) recall that at the Last Supper Jesus said to the Apostles: “Who is greater: the one seated at table or the one waiting on him? Yet I am here among you as the one who serves.” That’s exactly what he’s doing now. He cooked their breakfast.

This is the Jesus who died, rose from the dead, and ascended to glory. And here he is, like a mother taking care of her children.

Jesus constantly reaches out to me, extends his graced love to me. He wants only to care for me, help me, heal me, forgive me.

There are times when I especially need to be cared for.

(Like when I’m sick and pregnant, with sick children??? πŸ˜‰ )

May you have a blessed weekend – celebrate Divine Mercy Sunday – spend some quiet time with the Lord.

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholicism, Children, Christianity, Easter, Family, Home, Mothering, Parenting, Reflection, Spiritual Reading

Leave a Reply

