Daily Archives: March 31, 2008

Feast of the Anunciation

Usually celebrated on March 25 (nine months before Christmas), the celebration of this feast was moved to today due to the fact that the 25th was on Easter Tuesday. Pope Paul VI called the Annunciation “a joint feast of Christ and the Blessed Virgin,” for it marks the moment when the Son of God became incarnate in Mary’s womb.

The Anunciation, Henry Ossawa Tanner 1898

It’s a great day to reflect on Mary’s “yes” to God (Read Lk 1:26-38)

We all have the choice to say “yes” or “no” to God – in small things and in large. Continuing with reflection from the Little White Book, we read:

The way it actually plays out is not usually our going head-to-head with God and saying “no.” Rather, it’s probably that we don’t take God into acount in our plans.

We live a day, a year, maybe a lifetime without ever making our plans in conversation with God.

God, what is it you want me to do…in this situation…or as I lay out my plans for the next stage of my life?

Oh, and BTW, I think I finally see a light at the end of this tunnel of sickness! I’m still very congested but feel much better today, and boy, do I have a lot of catching up on things to do 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Catholicism, Christianity, Reflection, Spiritual Reading