Wednesday, January 21

Outside The Window…
Cloudy – kind of dreary really, but the ice on the trees is beautiful. It’s in the teens. You’d think after -20 these temps would feel like a heat wave, but I just haven’t been able to get warm all day. We have at least a dozen goldfinches, house finches, and juncos feeding on our porch at any given time. Wow, do they go through the thistle seed! I’m filling the feeders a couple times/week.

From the learning rooms…
I was determined to accomplish the following: phy ed, math, instrument practice, and history. Of course, there is always reading happening. We got these few items done! For American history, we watched a Colonial times series DVD, Jamestown settlement, while coloring from the Dover American Revolution coloring book. For some reason, coloring while we read aloud or watch history has become a favorite of all my boys. JB got upset over the Christmas season because we weren’t “doing school” and thus none of his beloved history coloring. For Phy Ed, we ventured out to the YMCA. It was a first for all the kids, as we just purchased a family membership. The basketball class (taught by myself) was fun and a hit with the three olders. The younger boys weren’t so happy. CJ and TM, the two youngest, who have never been away from mom much, bawled in the childcare room. At least CJ calmed down when held, but TM planted himself in a little swing and wouldn’t settle down for anyone. It even took me awhile to calm him. Luckily, we didn’t leave them for too long.
JM and JB were very excited to play in their room, but in true JB fashion and despite the fact he chose to stay in the play area, he pouted and whined for quite some time afterward about how he really wanted to play basketball instead. This is the same kid who was complaining about not doing history. For him, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

From the kitchen…

    Menu

B – hey, cereal and eggs!
L – Chocolate chip pancakes w/ maple syrup; mealshake drink (Shaklee)
D – Leftovers, taken care of by my oldest as I had a meeting.

Today’s “To Do” List…
Accomplish school list, feed everyone, and keep loading and folding laundry 🙂

Thinking ahead…
I’m scheduling nothing additional for tomorrow so I won’t be disappointed when it’s not done. We are in town for co-op class and other things most of the day.

Random thoughts…
I’ve been researching and looking at cookware. Am I really going to have to spring for Le Creuset? If you don’t want “made in china” and non-stick coatings – it doesn’t leave you with too many options. I do love my cast iron, but for some things, it’s not the right material. I’m leaning towards the enameled cast iron as of now.

Here is picture thought I am sharing…
Again, I’m just going to share a favorite picture. There are just some pictures we’ve taken that I love and they make me feel very sentimental.

picforjan211

Thank you God for…
the gift of music

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.